I Forge Iron

Homemade Hardy from a railroad spike?

I'm new to blacksmithing - took a class at North House Folk School this fall, and when I got home I got busy setting up shop. I have a chunk of railroad track for an anvil, a small sledgehammer to beat with, and I made a brakedrum forge. I'm learning as I go (with substantial help from this forum), and I'd like to make some sort of a cutoff tool. I got ahold of a few old railroad spikes, and I'm considering using one to make a cutoff hardy and mount it to the stump I have the "anvil" on. Any thought or advice will be appreciated.

Blacksmithing is very much a learn as you go hobby.  You'll start small and as your skill grows so too does you tools.  You can make a hardie from that spike, it probably wont last to long but will be functional.  Just dont mount it permanently, you'll need to "sharpen" it quite frequently. 

Look forward to seeing your progress.

I was planning on boring a hole in the top of the stump, squaring it up with a chisel, and cutting the head off the spike so it would fit in the hole. I'll make the square hole tight so I have to beat the spike into place. Another question - should I harden and temper the spike? I'm told that spikes are medium carbon steel, how hard do I want the finished tool to be?

I was also thinking about making a hot chisel out of one of the spikes - worth the effort, or should I be looking at another kind of steel for this?

RR spikes, even the ones marked HC, are pretty low in carbon for a hardy.  The sort of "&" shaped Rail Clips have almost double the carbon content of a spike as does most automotive leaf and coil springs and I would suggest using one of them instead.

The highest carbon RR spikes are at the lowest, 30 points, value for medium carbon steel AT THE MAX!