I Forge Iron

Project Offer - Too much for a newbie - Toronto

Hey everyone...

I've been playing around doing some backyard smithing for a few months now and I've found a nice little niche market selling decorative hooks (mounted or 'loose) and racks and such, and I came across a place in Toronto who makes what is called "live edge lumber" which is vertically sliced and kiln-dried sheets of wood from huge trees.  Long story short, we got talking one day and he asked if I could do anything that would compliment their stuff, we went back and forth with a few ideas and then nothing came of it.  

Fast forward 3 months to today, a woman called me who had just bought a large piece from him - about 6' x 3' and 2" thick, to be used as a coffee table.  She saw my rail spike hooks at their shop and thought that a scaled up version  (like, really really really scaled up) of rail spike hooks would look great as table legs (I happen to agree with her), so that the head of the spike would be the foot and the underside of the table would rest on the curved part of the hook, with the "point" of the hook pointing down to the floor, and they'd be turned inwards, towards the middle of the table.