I Forge Iron

I read on the "Show me your anvil" thread about putting a tennis ball on the end of the anvil horn. That's a good idea but I never seem to hit the horn even though I move between the forge and anvil to get to my swedge block.

The problem I have is leaving the vise handle or arbor press handle sticking out...I'll run into it every time. In my previous life as an engineer, I insisted that all the inspectors and lab guys keep those handles in a verticle position when they were not being used. The handles were also painted flourescent orange for visibility. I need to paint mine here, but it just wouldn't seem to fit in the smithy.......I'll probably change my mind when (not if) I run into a handle again.

Steve

My problem is that the anvil is right in the middle of the shop, and the horn is in the most dangerous position. So no matter what I'm doing in there, the horn is just waiting to stab something. The worse case is when I'm at the workbench, all I need to do is back up a little too far and I'll get a very memorable goose. I found a red tennis ball some time ago, so when the yellow one wears out, I'll have a Bozo nose of the correct and proper color to replace it :)

As for vises, my biggest problem is not the handle, but the the vise jaws themselves. The shop is small enough that just leaving the vises open gets in the way. I kind of get used to where things are, so when I move around the corner, I don't expect a vise to be sticking out, and get some bruised hips. Got to remember to close them when done.

My problem with the vise jaws is that I sometimes forget that they get hot and I rest my hand on them. It's the handle that gets me.

I also generally leave my hammer on top of the anvil and on occasion have knocked it off when doing something else....glad I wear safety toed shoes.