I Forge Iron

Hofi Style side draft chimney

Hi guys,

I would like to have a Hofi Style Chimney in my forge.  I read the blueprint (http://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/23197-bp1048-side-draft-chimney/) and have a couple of questions.  

Is there a smoke shelf in the horizontal section or is the draft unimpeded to the flue?  It's fabricated out of 3/16 sheet iron, so what might be a ballpark figure for the contruction of the horizontal section?  I can take care of the flue part.

Your help will be greatly appriciated.

Thanks, Larry

Doesn't look as though it has a smoke shelf. I am not an expert on these or any other forge style but 3/16" sheet for the tunnel seems pretty heavy. However it extends quite a way through the wall and supports the flue, so would need to be strong for that. Might consider building a super sucker side draft and just use pipe to go through the wall. It would be simpler, I think.  Also it explains the tunnel is pointing slightly downward so rain will run away from the wall. As far as I know, the flue has to have a 1/4" rise per foot for proper draft though it appears to be working well. That is also code around here. That downward slope may also do the same thing as a smoke shelf as well.

Fred

Hi,

I built one out of 3/16 diamond plate, because that is what I had.  Mine is just a 12" square tube which extends about 4' through the wall.  No smoke shelf.  I have a 12" galvanized spiral pipe (22 g or something?) for the chimney, which fits over a circular male flange on the outside top of the square.  I figure not having the edge of the spiral pipe directly exposed to the heat/fumes will prevent it from rusting away.  Chimney is very light and is fully supported on the tunnel.