I Forge Iron

Gas Forge Purchase

I am interested in buying a small gas forge and have been looking at the one they sell on Ebay. Is there any advice or suggestion as to the overall quality of any of these? Anyone out there that owns one that has any opinions about them would be appreciated.

I have been wanting to make my own but due to some recent heath issues and deciding it is better to be learning to smith than it is to be "going to build" a forge.

I am new at blacksmithing. I have started to take some lessons but due to the amount of people in the class and the fact that some of the others in the class were quite young and impatient I became frustrated with my work being burned up due to them cranking the blowers at full speed I discontinued the class. So I have been doing some reading and just want to get started.

Thanks

Vzimmer

vzimmer,
I understand the feelings of wanting to get right to hammering. I am/was in the same boat a few years ago. I was able to save a large chunk of money by building my own first, second and third gas forges. That, and now I know how to build and repair them as well. The time taken is not that long at all.

Welcome to this most great hobby/skill and the IFI world

I'll second buying one of Darren Ellis's forges. He's a great guy to work with, and carries everything you need to build your own, repair and maintain any type of forge from any manufacturer, etc. You wont find better customer service elsewhere either.

I purchased a kit from jay hayes and was happy with the quality and the help offered when I had questions. kit included everything needed and they come in several different sizes. On the other hand, Michael Prters book on gas forges gives you everything you ever wanted to know about gas forges and plans for several carts, forges and different burners. I did it (meaning it ain't rocket science)