I Forge Iron

Customized $8 hammer project

Eddie Mullins

I'm new to smithing and building my tool collection. Not quite at the point yet of spending top $ on a high quality hammer, as I just don't quite know what I want. I purchased a $8 3 lb cross pein hammer from Harbor Freight and didn't really like the weight and feel so made some tweaks to it.

Here's what I started with.

post-37148-0-98381400-1367101001_thumb.j

After cutting off about 3/4 " on both ends

post-37148-0-86765900-1367101393_thumb.j

After regrinding, HT and temper

post-37148-0-87231300-1367101447_thumb.j

Here it is in my main line up, Vaugn 2 lb cross pein on left, the moded HF cross pein center, and on the right another hammer I customized, and perhaps my favorite, a 2 lb HF engineering hammer that I reground one face to make it round.

post-37148-0-49821600-1367101686_thumb.j

My 2 HF mods function much better now, with little expense and just a little effort.

A  similiar approach,,,i did not change hear treat and it works fine!http://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/29218-store-bought-hammer-mods/

Very nice mod. I haven't used a diagonal pein yet, but at $6-8 for HF hammers, I plan to mod a few more hammers and I may add a daigonal.

I thought it was  neat that your mod was for a knife build, I actually made a "knife" today out of 1/2" mild round stock today with the HF's hammers I have now. The more I use the mod cross pein the more I like it.

I don't think this "knife" is too bad for my 1st solo attempt, and it was even better to me doing with hammers I modded to suite me.

post-37148-0-81499400-1367198988_thumb.j

post-37148-0-39724200-1367199010_thumb.j