I Forge Iron

Improvements to a small rivet forge?

ndnchf

Hi Guys,

Newbie here.  I just picked up my first forge and 100 lb Fisher anvil.  Its a Buffalo Forge, rivet forge ( think that's what these are referred to) with a small hand cranked blower.

Bufcoforge_zps09cbd18c.jpg

Fisher1_zps39a8fa18.jpg

Its a little crusty looking, but the pan and legs are solid.  The hood is a little worse for wear, but still servicable.  I took the blower apart, cleaned and oiled it.  It now works great.  I've been reading through the files and I think I will use the Portland cement/sand mix to line the pan. 

What other improvements could be made to the little forge?  I thought about cutting an access door in the rear to put longer pieces in.  There is no fire pot on these.  Has anyone added a fire pot somehow?  Is it beneficial in this type of forge?

I'll continue to search the archives, but would appreciate any comments.

Thanks - Steve

It looks like I have a simular forge, without the hood. I'd like to rig one up of some sort, I work outside the garage and have had trouble seeing the color of the steel in the sunlight.

I added a little 10w oil to the open side if the blower (a little too much as it ran down to the ash pot and burned) - now it turns great.

I lined mine with a layer if masonry mix, but as it isn't cast iron it wasn't neccissary. I also use some fire bricks to help get a deeper, contained charcoal fire, (I have a thread going with pictures). I bet the forge will work great, it took me awhile to learn how mine wanted to burn best. Happy forging!

The blower would barely turn when I got it.  But I partially disassembled it, cleaned out the debris and oilied all the bearings and gears.  Now it turns smoothly and pumps out air nicely.  I got another identical blower with it as a spare.

Good eye Pugh Man.  That's my 1924 Ford touring car in the background.