I Forge Iron

Beekeeping and Smithing: Crafts that go hand in hand!

Albert A Rasch

Hello everyone!

Not one of my catchiest titles, but descriptive enough!

Borntolate and Neil commented on the many intersecting interests (Beeswax and Mead!) between Smithing and Beekeeping, and as I am an apiarist, I volunteered to start a thread on beekeeping for the blacksmith.

It’s not difficult to get started with bees. Basically, you need a hive, and well, some bees. It doesn’t hurt if you know an apiarist, or join a local bee group, but I am entirely self-taught. In fact I only know one other apiarist personally, and he’s an Aussie here in Afghanistan with me! None-the-less I have successfully managed 12 hives, starting with some broken down wild hives. For a couple of laughs you can read about my initial misadventures in hive management and relocation. Probably a half dozen good lessons for the astute there.

The first thing to do is get a basic education. There are many good reference sites out there, in addition to forums. My favorite site, and the one that I believe is best put together, with excellent and proven information, is The Practical Beekeeper at Bush Farms. Mr Bush is an expert in the old fashioned and hard earned way of observation and trial and error. His methodologies work, and work well. My favorite forum is BeeSource. Just those two sites will get you off to a great start.

Ok, let’s assume you want to do this with little or no money up front. If that’s the case I would consider using what is called a Top Bar Hive (TBH). Easily constructed from just about anything, a TBH will allow you to get started with a minimal investment of capital. Short of getting some nails or screws, and some sweat to put it together, there is nothing else that will cost you money. Much like smithing, you can scrounge much of the materials you use.

Here is a good reference to TBH building.