I Forge Iron

High carbon steel

Derek H

Wasn't sure where to put this.

I am new to knife making and so far have been using railroad spikes for practice. I have called several of the local steel suppliers but none of them have any kind of high carbon steel.  Everything i have found online is ether to thin to be used for forging or is really expensive.  So my question is, where does everyone get their high carbon steels from?

I really want to start making some decent knives.  

Thanks for the help

I try to avoid Admiral when I can because they do not always send what they advertize. ya wont know what they are sending until after you get it. NJ steel baron aka Aldo is first rate

Thanks for the heads up.  I've bought from them and got what I ordered.  That being said, other's experiences are good to know.  I'll have to give the jersey folks a look too.