I Forge Iron

building a brick forge, looking for advise

neg

I plan on building a new brick forge sometime soon. I plan on building it in my shed, which has wood (T1-11) walls. I can't take the chimney through my roof, so I was planning on building it up, then through my wall, then back up over the roof. I've never built this kind of thing myself before, so I was hoping for some advise on how to bring the chimney through my wall (or if it's even a good idea to). I really don't want to burn down my shed, so any advice anybody could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Build a brick base, then add a side draft. It is really the only way to it. You can put two 90 bends in a brick chimney. You could however cover the metal of the side draft with brick if you so wanted to. Heck you might even be able to build the inside part of it out of brick.

Speak to your insurance company first and build to their requirments. Here in the Uk all things like this are goverened by HETAS regulations and without certification from this body your insurance won't cover you in the case of a fire. That's certainly the case for chimneys in houses for woodburners and open fires not sure about sheds and forges. There is some new legislation on chimneys in thatched properties that may be comparable to a wooden shed in terms of its willingness to combust. I think a lot of HETAS' stipulations are a bit over the top, a real belt and braces job but insaying that you don't want to loose a shed full of tools and get told by your insurer that they aren't going to pay out!

I wish my shop was this clean again.