I Forge Iron

African Iron Age Smelting

Thanks for the link. It bears study, which I did not do: I glimmed the article. In school, I majored in Sociology & Anthropology, with an emphasis on ethnology and to the exclusion of archeology. I now find that archeology holds my interest.

In the wonderful film, "Inagina the Last House of Iron" a smelt by Dogon tribesmen in Mali was filmed by Swiss anthropologists. The anthros were able to round up enough iron masters and smiths who remembered the process, and they filmed the production of some iron. There were several clay tuyeres around the furnace a little above grade. The draft was induced by heat within the furnace. I don't think that mention was made of the pre-heated blast that could result from the heat transfer to the tuyeres, but apparently this was the case as shown by the Schmidt & Childs' study.

When I first began the think about iron production in Europe, I always thought "bellows." Now I think induced draft (or natural draft), bellows, blowing engine, fans, cold blast, and pre-heated blast, All of the early technology is mind blowing, not to mention current B.O.P., electric furnace, and vacuum degassing. Wow!

Yes it is if you choose to think that way.
Although its not a rewriting of history as it is a true picture. The premise that native Africans didn't have the ability to discover their iron age on their own is the result colonialist propaganda used to help subjugate the native populous. The wide range of styles and sizes of African smelting furnaces and the lack of few if any looking anything like early European or Eastern styles tends to lead one to believe in African authorship.
Why should it be any harder to think that Africans could develop a smelting process alone anymore than to think it was possible to do so in the middle east or Asia?