I Forge Iron

Swage block and other tools, investment?

Everything Mac

Hi guys, - some back ground for you ...

I've been smithing as a hobby for about 5 years now; and since I left uni and started working full time I've been trying to expand my shop tools bit by bit as I haven't really had any major expenses to worry about. I work offshore for two weeks at a time, with a lot of down time and internet access, so I figured I'd invest in these bits and pieces while I could afford it - with the theory that should I ever turn professional in the years to come (many years away) that I would already have a decent bank of tools at my disposal so wouldn't have to spend so much in the long run.
Or at least I'd have a much better set of tools meaning that I can make a wider variety of things.
My most recent purchase was an upgrade for my anvil, from a mouse hole forge 62kg anvil (paid £10.50) to a 118kg Peter wright for £150.

The main bit:

Any way I've been Keeping my eyes out recently and a few swage blocks have come up for an acceptable price, as well as a small cone mandrel.

I'm curious to know if you guys find these useful tools to have in your shop? Are they worth having for that particular job? Or is it a case of they get used once in a blue moon and I could easily make do.

Having said that I'm ideally on the look out for a hand cranked blower as I'd like to keep my energy costs down.

All advice appreciated

Andy

I can say, with complete certainty: it depends. Part of the fun of joining a group and seeing demos at various shops is watching others at work, and snooping around in their tool racks gathering ideas on how others approach the work. :rolleyes:

If you do: demos at remote locations, small to medium work by yourself, on a lot of various projects, have to move tools around the shop/garage/shed/patio constantly, and/or just need a certain shape for five minutes or an hour, a small cone and swage block are great assets.