I Forge Iron

Steel and wood table

Sorry to flood the que with threads about stuff I've made but I'm excited to share and learn from other people who understand the unique challenges of working with metal. Up to this point I'm completely self taught in both welding and cutting/shaping steel. I am enrolled in a blacksmithing class set for October and I would dearly love to go back and take a formal welding class to learn how wrong my technique probably is but for now I am just excited to produce anything worth sharing.

My younger brother just moved into a new condo with his longtime girlfriend. He mentioned he wanted a table for his front entry hallway to leave keys and stuff on so they'd always be near the door. He needed something long and skinny so it wouldn't take up too much space. After a trip to a local building materials salvage place we found a beautiful 8' x 1' piece of 1.5" thick oak butcher block. The edges of the butcher block were softened with a 1/4" round-over bit on the router top and bottom. I left the wood raw but encouraged my brother to either stain it or at minimum treat it with oil to protect the surface.

The frame I made is pretty simple but I took the time to do it right. 3/4" angle supports each shelf and the legs are 3/4" square tube. I welded and ground everything flush so there are no visible seams when the wood shelves are in place. The X's on each side are 1/2" solid square stock. I wanted to keep the design simple because I wanted it to work with whatever other furniture they own. The final touch was adding adjustable leveling legs (taken from an old desk they were throwing away at my office) to allow the table to sit flat even on an uneven tile floor.