I Forge Iron

Gas Forge- Low Heat

carlp

I'm a noob. I recently got a used Whisper Deluxe that needs to be relined. I put some new fire bricks in the the floor until I get a reline kit. Today, I used a new propane tank and tried to heat some horseshoes and rebar to practice with.

There was no power in the flames and it just didn't get hot enough. I cleaned the jets (I think they are brass) and made sure they were centered with the burner tubes. It was windy outside (where I'm trying to work) today, but calm tonight.

It is like there is not enough pressure in the system.

My question is, if I reline the forge, might the pressure from the burners increase? Or, should I get a new regulator, hose, and ball valve?

Thanks in advance.

Good Morning,

The lining inside the forge has no bearing on the burner. The regulator should have some place to adjust the pressure, there should also be a place to fit a gauge so you can see what pressure works and what pressure doesn't work. If the flames are pouring out the doors/vents of the forge, you have too much fuel or not enough air.

If it is an atmospheric burner (no blower) adjust the air to wide open and then increase the gas pressure until you get the roar you will learn to hear when the flame is good, some but not too much flame coming out he doors.

The inside of the forge will become orange/yellow when up to temperature and the fire-brick will act as a refractory. The refractory function will allow the gas to burn better (another source of ignition), so you will actually want to turn the gas pressure down a bit when hot. If you coat the inside of the forge with refractory cement you will notice you have a larger hot-spot and you will use less gas pressure.

Neil Gustafson