I Forge Iron

Belt Grit, abrasive and Manufacturer You Use

Borntoolate

I need to purchase some sand paper / belts for some of my equipment to use on metal. I am primarily a woodworker so most of my stuff is for that. I have also orderd a 2x72 sander.

Hammer makers: What Grits ranges, Abrasive types and manufactures do you use. And what do you use the most of. Do you have a preferred on-line supplier.

Knife Makers: Same question.

Brian, what do you use to finish your hammers?

I'll have to order on-line and figure I might as well just stock up on the right stuff and be done with it. THe local home depot just doesn't carry much of this kind of stuff. They have some but never all that you need. Certainly no 2x72 anything.

To me there are a couple of lines of thought on belts. One is they aer disposables and buy the cheapest you I can get and toss them when needed.
I bugy the very best I can get and use them aloong time. I make mirror polished knves mostly from stainless steel. I also make my own pattern welded steel billets and have made a lot of tools including hammers. I use the same belts on all of these items.The brands I use and the suppliers arfe not all the same. The specific belts I use are all listed in bp 0235 and I believe it is in the list of those being headed back to this site sometimes....soon I hope.
The other item that i need to cover here is belt sanders for metal work. You may have already seen that belts for some grinder sizes are difficult to find and or more pricey than other sizes. I use a 2" x 72" variable speed grinder. For me some belts work better at different speeds. Any of the abrasive suppliers and I believe all of the knife making suppliers carry a wide range of belts in that size.