I Forge Iron

welding help needed

Hello, i am new to this web site and forging. i am trying to make a tomahawk out of a horse rasp , heated up good folded it over good but i cant get it to weld. i am using 20 mule borax and i have read about it watched it done on youtube but i am falling short some where. can i ask for your advise on what i need to do and what i am doing wrong your help would and is greatly needed if you wouldnt mind. thank you Brent Owens.

You may want to edit your profile and provide your were-a-bouts, this will help with possibly pointing you to a smith in your area that may be willing to help you on a personnal basis with learning the fine art of forge welding.

My most common welding failures, and these are my own, you might be able to find your fault in them:

1. Metal not hot enough - needs to be just shy of sparkling. In fact, I tend to have more success if I get it sparkly.
2. To slow getting to the anvil - the metal will cool off on me!
3. To slow getting the hammer to the metal - the anvil will suck the heat way fast. You should have your hammer on the way down before the stock hits the anvil
4. Hitting to hard. Yep! Hit it too hard and you squirt all the liquid metal out. Try going to a small hammer. I've actually had great success using my smallest ball peen hammer. You need speed and accuracy, not brute force.
5. Skip the flux. If you get it hot enough you don't need it.

Forge welding is one of those things that is a LOT simpler to have an experience person show you how than to try to learn it from a book.

If you are near central NM I would be happy to, (or are attending the SCA's Battlemoor event in Colorado where I plan to do some pattern welding.)

Did you have a "proper" fire---deep and clean?

Did you take it to the correct temperature?

Was the piece prepared properly to have minimal scaling before trying to weld?

Kind of hard to troubleshoot this way...