I Forge Iron

W1 Wakizashi In Progress

Thanks for the comments; I am still new to the hamon thing and can't account for the "clouds" unless some of the clay popped off in a serendipitous manner! I am trying to come up with a good approach to finish polishing this blade and have ordered some resources to study. On a small remote island some supplies are not locally available and I may need to order some stuff in, but I will be experimenting a bit tomorrow to see what I can do with what I have on hand. Aloha, Steve

• 2 weeks later...

Does the "cloud" formation penetrate to the other side. In the picture you posted, there doesn't appear to be any damage to the surface of the refractory coating applied to the blade. Happy accident. Becomes useful when repeatable.

Maybe Oahu or the Big Island have what you need. The web can save a lot of travel time, but it would be a nice excuse to stretch your legs. Inter-Island travel is so convenient, at least it was while I lived on Oahu.

Wow! Looking at your latest pictures, it turned out great. It's da kine Brah! Sorry Steve, that doesn't sound cool when I write that. :lol: You know what I mean, I hope. Aloha, Robert

Howzit Robert, yes, the "clouds" show up on both sides, definitely a happy accident, now to see if i can figure out how that happened!I just finished a 4 burner blown forge for longer heat treating so hopefully i will post more successes in the future. Regards, Steve

• 3 weeks later...

Howzit Steve, Nice Habaki. Seems like you've done a few of those before. Until I read the book "The Craft of the Japanese Sword," I had no idea what purpose the Habaki served. :lol: Did you go with a textural or a smooth finish? Hard to tell from the second picture. What kind of wood did you use for the scabbard? Actual ho wood? Take care.

Robert