I Forge Iron

A12285 Hay Budden

I recently purchased a "ment 1912 140lb Hey budden" Gentleman told me it'd be 350 on the phone but he told me to research what a great anvil it was. I did even though I had an idea. When I got there I kinda knew what I was looking at I'm fairly certain the date was off. 124 stamped on the side it was 125 on the bathroom scale. And I'm assuming now it's a bit younger than claimed. And while I'm no expert but to me 'ment condition' means as it came from the factory. Not an anvil two holes tacked and ground down and a gash near the heel. All things considered.. for me I still felt it was a good deal. I played dumb to the damage and falsities hoping to feel out things a bit more. No one likes to be called a liar or ignorant, most of the conversation as he continued to sell me the anvil even after the cash was in his hand. The guy wasn't a smith, but he does metal work. As a collector (I got the feeling he was more the buy/trade type than collector)I don't think he really was as knowledgeable as he professed although he did have a copy of anvils of America. But he wasn't unknowledgeable, misinformed a bit and fuzzy on some details he just isn't as interested personally I suppose. All said and done though I felt it was a good deal and I'm very happy with it. He can spend time looking them, 'cause there certainly is a market, and hopefully I'll be able to trade up eventually and have more time to smith.

If anyone could help me out narrowing things down a bit I'd appreciate it. And I wonder what condition others would describe the face. Honestly I'm very happy but any input is greatly apprieciated. I'm not much of a haggler, I tried to let him know now how much I wanted it and how excited I was to get it and that didn't give me much of a leg to yard sale even if I'd wanted to. Thanks a lot for any details.

I'm very proud to own it, here it is: