I Forge Iron

spur making

I am new here, this is my first try, hope I can find info on how to cut shoeing rasps to width to make spurs. I know of a maker in New Mexico who has his cut on a commercial water jet, up here it is a min. $100 to start with that program, a little pricey for a hobby deal. I shoe and train for a living, have a welder/torch etc. Cutting these rasps w/ a torch makes for a lot of cleanup, so, what is the slickest way to do this? I have forged them to width by hand in the past but it is a lot of work; gives a very interesting snakeskin pattern. By the way, machine shops are no help, the steel is too hard to mess with a bandsaw etc. Thanks for any input.

I have made a few pairs of rasp spurs. I usually cut the rasp in two even halves. For each half i determine how long the shank and heel bands need to be and cut down the center with my bandsaw stopping where the shank starts. The metal on either side of the cut will be the heel band. I then fold this over and the folded, not cut, end will be the shank. I then weld the shank where the fold meets. Simple as that. This could also be accomplished with an angle grinder with a cut off wheel. Hope this helps. If you don't have a commercial bandsaw, i have seen people use small pipe bandsaws held in a vise to cut metal.

Big Johnson

First things first, I want to welcome you to “I Forge Iron”

I am new to making spurs, so anything I say comes only from that (very weak)point of view.
I can say though, that I do my best to study out (in detail) about any new undertaking that I am going to attempt.
So far I have studied everything I could find on the internet such as various “How To Do” articles, “I Forge Iron”, “spursandbit.com”, and watched the video’s on “you Tube”.
I have also purchased a book by Robert M. Hall, and I also purchased DVD’s made by “Bruce Cheaney” from Gainesville Texas.