I Forge Iron

looking to learn blacksmithing (Madison, WI)

Hi All,

I am a recent college graduate working in Madison, WI and would like to find a group or open shop in the area to learn from. If there is anyone out there who would be willing to teach me about the trade, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Greg

Hi Greg.
There is a Place in your neck of the woods...Shake Rag Alley in Mineral Point WI has classes there at differant times.

March 26 and 27 at Scott County Park's Pioneer Village there is a hammer in. The park is north of Davenport Iowa. My link link is the parks, nothing listed on the hammer in. Check the UMBA website for further info on the event.

Good luck and welcome!

Here is some information that may be of value to you!
The rules that govern life seem to imply that you will only get out of something, what you put into it.
Same is true with learning the blacksmithing craft.
It will cost you time, money, burns, and sweat to learn the craft. All depending how far you take it.
Here is some places that I suggest that you contact to get the ball rolling that is near you.

* Beginners Workshops: http://oldworldwisconsin.wisconsinhistory.org/Workshops/Blacksmithing.aspx

*Golden Hammer Forge 6600 Kopp Rd, Waunakee, WI 53597 1(608) 849-7879
Or,
*Blacksmith
2000 Fordem Avenue.Madison, WI 53704-4600. BR 1 (608) 280-2750
Or,
* Wisconsin Iron Works • Pewaukee, Wis USA • 1-262-370-6200 Wisconsin Iron Works
We make custom ornamental branding irons and other useful steel products made in America. We also make old fashion cannonball gate keepers, door stops and openers. Each project or item is handcrafted to strict specifications and quality standards. Hand bent out of high quality American Steel and welded by experienced artisans. Your personalized brand will be a work of art.

I feel you could get some information from the above people that could at least head you in the right direction.
I wish you the very best in your journey!
Ted Throckmorton