I Forge Iron

annealing time?

I finished forging my first seax-ish object out of coil spring yesterday. I know I'm supposed to anneal before i do any grinding to it, but I'm not sure how long it's supposed to take to anneal. I mixed some hot charcoal with some dirt and buried it in that after bringing it up to a bright orange. It was still hot to the touch about 45 minutes later, but i could handle it with gloves. Was this long enough, or should it have taken a lot longer? If this isn't good enough, what would be a good method?
Also, once i do get it annealed and cleaned up, should i bring it to an edge before quenching, or would that be better after tempering?

Thanks

I usually anneal my blades in the forge when I'm finished. It takes about 5 hours to cool and that seems to anneal the blades quite well. I'm not that experienced yet, but I think 45 mins is probably not enough. Someone correct me if I'm wrong :rolleyes:

Some good methods for annealing are to bury the blade in wood ash, vermiculite or some other non-flamable insulating material, with about 6 or more inches of insulation all around the blade (the more the better). I've also heard that kitty litter can be used if you get the clay kind.

So far I have filed and sanded the edge pretty much all the way (down to roughly a millimeter thick) before quenching and I haven't had any problems yet. Don't put a sharp edge on it though cause it probably will crack ;). You can put the final edge on it after tempering then.

Good luck, hope this helps.

I have a confession to make: I almost never bother with annealing. With the steels I use, normalized pearlite is soft enough to file and sand easily enough for my taste. But if you are going for an anneal (and yes, leaf spring is probably a steel in which a traditional anneal will work fine), you're looking for a much longer cooling cycle than 45 minutes.