I Forge Iron

ebay blower for solid fuel forge

Hey, all,

I'm putting together my first coal forge and was looking at various options for a blower.

On ebay I found a 200 cfm centrifugal blower that looks interesting:

http://cgi.ebay.com/MCLEAN-1NB412-CENTRIFUGAL-BLOWER-110-V-200-CFM-NEW-/230530125104

On the performance curves from the mfgr, it looks like it does 150 cfm at a pressure of 1 inch of water or 100 cfm at 1.4 inches of water.

The forge I'm making is from a light truck wheel with a home-fabricated 3" ID tuyere or whatever you call it (I'm totally new to this). The main part of the firepot will be maybe 6" in diameter. I don't have a clinker-breaker yet; for my first foray, I plan to use a cast iron "grate" over the air inlet.

Does anyone have a feel for whether the blower referenced above will be "up to the task" for my application? Has anyone used a blower like this?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Not knowing what I really needed, a half dozen years ago I bought a 400 cfm blower, I don't recall what pressure it can deliver. It is way too much in any case and I have put a speed control on it. I run it nearly as slow as it can go. At full speed the noise was also just to much. I also have a slide gate damper for shutoff.

I would think that 100 cfm and 1.4 inches of water column would be plenty.

Obviously another option would be a hand cranked blower.

I'm sure more opinions will follow.

Good luck

It's a squirrel cage, high volume low pressure and not as suitable for a solid fuel forge as other alternatives. Still, if it's what you have it'd probably be more than enough to blow a brake drum size fire all over the shop. Seriously, for a brake drum forge a hand held hair drier works fairly well and one out of a car heater can make a big blaze.

Frosty the Lucky.