I Forge Iron

Identifying scrap metal that is safe to forge

I'm just getting started in Blacksmithing, new to NEB, ABANA and this forum.

When buying metal at a scrap yard, flea market etc.. how can I be certain that the metal is safe to forge? Galvanized metal is easy to spot, at least it has been so far.

Thanks in advance, any advice you can offer is much appreciated.

Mainly watch for platings; zinc (galvanized), cadmium (gold,grey), and chrome. If it is bar stock , plating can be turned off with a lathe, if you have one. Would only say to do that for something like a hydraulic shaft that you know is decent material to start with.