I Forge Iron

Hardies

I am relatively new to smithing, and tool-less! haha would lke to familarize wth som RR spike axes and stuff, but my budget is even smaller than my little 55# anvil. Could a hardie be made from a RR spike or similar material? Also wondering about creating a splitting punch. I have a few misc punches that could be reworked... thoughts comments... smacks about the ear hole? Thanks fellas.
Jeremy

RR spikes do not take to hardening well, so the life of the tool would be limited, but if that is the stock you have on hand, and cannot find/afford a junk/bone yard leaf or coil spring or hardenable stock to make tools from, then go for it!

Some other thoughts

Phil

Old punches and chisels can be good material for new ones. I am unsure what you mean by splitting punch... perhaps you mean a slitting punch? Or maybe a slitting chisel? Either way my favorite ones have been made from pry bar material which I get whenever I can find it cheap at flea markets or antique stores. Old punches and chisels are fine though if you can get them in useful lengths and diameters (lots of them are a bit too short to work well, and some are also too thin). If it is big enough to fit your hardy hole a railroad spike would work for a starter hardy. Use the lip of the spike head for the cutting edge and just make a 90 degree bend an inch or more below it so that the spike head lays on its back on the anvil when the spike tip is inserted into the hardy hole. I would thicken and straighten the spike head lip a little to make it a better hardy shape. Smash the whole thing down on the anvil a bit to get a good stable base too.

I recently acquired an axle from a VW bug. The end is flattened and flared already and all I had to do was cut off the base and set it down to fit my hardie hole and put a cutting edge on the flare. It stands about 8" from the face of my anvil and should make a very useful addition to my cutting tools.