I Forge Iron

Forging Brass Knuckles

highwayman

Hey Everyone,

I am trying to figure out the best way to forge some brass knuckles for a motorcycle accessory. Has anyone ever done this before?

I have a few ideas, but not sure which way is best. As you may have guessed already, I am a newbie.

Here are the different ideas I have:

1) Cut a rough cut out of 1/4 or 3/8 plate with the oxy/acetylene torch and forge down from there.

2) Forge 4 small hoops and weld them together with a palm rest. I am not sure if I could hide the welds and don't think I could manage a good forge weld on all of them.

3) Punch and drift the finger holes and then forge around them. My concern here is that I will end up with uneven holes and too much mass in the wrong places.

My other concern is what order to forge different sections in so that I can actually get the hammer in certain places.

Any ideas or suggestions??

Thanks in Advance!

Bob

Depending on how fast you need them, this would be a good practice for punching/ slitting and drifting. You should be able to get the right amount of metal where you need it if you place your holes right. If you need them fast, drill the holes so you have the right amount of material between and then rough cut with a torch or chisels and clean up with a hammer after grinding out the sharp points that would cause cold shuts

So are you actually using brass?

If I wanted an accurate reproduction of some originals I would cast 'em, but the easiest route for a newbie is going to be to lay out the pattern on a piece of flat stock then drill and file to shape.