I Forge Iron

coke fire

Alkale

being new to the art i purchased coke and not coal when trying to start the forge I light the coke with a torch and have tried

both little air and a lot of air but glowing coke goes out. what am I doing wrong? Thanks

Do you have any BBQ briquettes? This is a good way to get er going. Start with a few briquettes and add coke to that or green coal and then coke.
I am no expert but that has worked for me.

Good Morning,

You can use a rosebud to start the fire (cheating, but who is looking) or you can start a paper and kindling fire in the fire-pot and gently sprinkle on some coke after the wood gets burning. Don't be in a hurry, the wood will start the coke. When you finish using the fire just rake the fire out of the fire-pot, to the side of the fire-pot and use this to start the next fire. It will start easier with the breeze (coke that has already started to burn).
Enjoy the journey, the destination is not the only mission!!

Neil Gustafson

Coals a pain you have to faff about with it i'd stick with coke. I either use paper and kindling or firelighters if I have them. The last lot I bought came from a different supplier, they didn't have what I normally buy so I got a couple of sacks with the smallest lumps. They turned out to be mix of normal coke and what looks like small lumps made up of little round balls of coke. I've no idea what they are but once the reformed lumps are lit they wont go out, so I have to try and rake all the unlit coke to one side of my forge and the lit stuff in the fire pot to the other.

Good Morning,