I Forge Iron

Recent Railing Project

David Browne

Great rail David,

Nice sweeping curve, the decorative rivets are a nice touch and I like the clover detail for the support bracket, what was the parent material?

Michael,
Since you mentioned "clover detail"...Strange side story here.

When initially speaking with this client about the design for the railing, she gave me complete freedom to design anything that I thought would be appropriate within a framework of the California Spanish style. Her only specific requests were the sweeping curve at the Newell post, and that she would really like the rail to be side mounted.

I started playing around with shapes for the side mounts and came up with what I referred to as a clover motif. I liked it, so I made a small railing sample and presented it. She pulled me aside and asked me why I chose a clover detail. At this point, I was kind of nervous. I said, I'm not sure why, it just seemed to fit with the house, and I liked it... As it turns out, clovers are very special to her, and the clover as a symbol reminds her of happy times spent as a child with her mother and her grandmother searching for four leaf clovers on their property in Nebraska. Needless to say, the clover motif made it into the front gate and the window grill as well. :D

OK, back to your question...parent material. I forged all the clovers separately and then welded them into the pickets. Each clover started off as 1 1/2" round bar about 2" long. Can you guess how I did it?
-DB

Michael,
Since you mentioned "clover detail"...Strange side story here.

When initially speaking with this client about the design for the railing, she gave me complete freedom to design anything that I thought would be appropriate within a framework of the California Spanish style. Her only specific requests were the sweeping curve at the Newell post, and that she would really like the rail to be side mounted.