I Forge Iron

Starting to Feel Like a Blacksmith

Yep folk after almost a year of beating on odd bits of iron starting with a tire rim forge and a RR raid, moving up in equipment as money and skill improved. I just finished my first blacksmithing class. Now I have tried very hard to be self taught buying several books, down loading a few more, plus 2 very large ring binders full of designs and information. It just does not compare to being in a class hands on. It was only a two day class building a 5 hook coat rack that hangs on the wall but it taught a number of skills in doing so. Some of these skill I have worked at on my own long before and struggled with getting them to work out right. Now I not only know how to do it right but how to look at something in attempting other skills that may be similar.

All in all self taught is not to be knocked if that's all you have. But if your starting out in blacksmithing and someone offers classes near you it would be well worth it and a great help to save up and take them. Where I went at the Metal Museum in Memphis, TN. they did a great job in teaching and helping you to understand what you were doing. I probably had the most experience of all in the class but we all finished with our projects showing an equal skill level.

So now I'm all fired up and ready to beat out some iron the right way. As well try out some new ideas in skill and design. Now, maybe I can be called a blacksmith, or at least in blacksmith in training.

BillP

congrats!

I too have started out in similar fashion a couple of months ago. I started with a dug hole and a 1" steel pipe blowing air with a fan. I moved up to a brake drum off of a 4x4 that is now mounted on a portable expanded metal serving cart with black pipe plumbing. I've started my search for blacksmithing classes and I thank you for your testimonial regarding the benefit of such. It's really helped push me in that direction. Good luck on the road of smithing!

Mark