I Forge Iron

Volcan Anvil!!!!!

Two weeks ago, my dad and I were cleaning out my step mother's dad's shed and we found a Vulcan anvil marked with a number 20 on the foot, I guess that is what you would call it. We where told that it was an old gun smith anvil. I was just wondering if anyone could tell anything about them and what the number 20 is about. I thought if anything, the people on here seem well versed on this subject and would give me great info. I would like to say thank you in advanced, for any help.

Vulcans were also known as the poor man's Fisher. Made almost the same way, but never quite as good. Just take it easy when forging.

I am still a shop teacher, year 33, with a forge, foundry, welding, sheet metal, and machining capabilities. Also the wood shop teacher in the morning with a full program. I recruited a top student five years ago to go to Millersville and he is now employed at my school. He does the advanced Metals and AutoCad. When I retire in a few years, he will keep the Metal program alive. Wood teachers are easier to find. Not all schools close their shops. We also have a full Graphics program, and starting Robotics/Engineering. Sorry to hijack the thread, but had to respond.