I Forge Iron

Forged hooks

Here are a couple of hooks I finished last week out of 4340. I have to pick them up from the ndt lab Monday and deliver them. Second picture is bending the hooks around. A retired blacksmith who stops by my shop regularly tells me they made a similar hook by starting with 4" round, making a ball, flattening it puncing a hole in it and hot cutting away the rest. After bending this one I can understand why.

18509.attach

18510.attach

We used to do a job when I was an apprentice, much the same type of hook, rectangular with a really tight bend, tapering off at the nose. We would forge a lump on the end with extra meat on it, bend it over back onto its self as you would when making a faggot weld, then profile cut the finished shape, we had to have the material preheated fairly well to get a good cut. This method was to still have grain flow follow the out line of the hook. Seem to recall these were for Royal Aussie Navy, fairly stringent testing was required.

Phil

jake: any wrought product (rolled or forged) like bar or plate has a definite longitudinal grain to it and will fracture easier with the grain than across the grain. This is not always apparent in straight pull testing, but if you add impact there can be a huge difference.

Thank you,Grant.May i ask,then,what causes that?Are not the grains,themselves composed of atoms solidified as the steel cools,re-formed anew,relative to their cooling rates?
I do apologise if there's a key element of the process that i'm missing...I simply am not a natural at understanding(attempting to,rather),of Fe metallurgy.It's an unending-seeming struggle to wrap the old pea-brain around even the basics.

Thank you very much,Grant.If i may further be a nuisance,can i then ask this: