I Forge Iron

Looking for training or new job oppotunity HELP!!!!!

Hi ,
Ive just joined recently as im interested in taking getting some blacksmithing experience , as i work as a welder but want to find a more creative and rewarding way to make a living - working for the big man is completely unthankful !!!
My question are -
Where is recommended to take a 'taster' course for a few days ? I see a few around but there quite far away [ im in oxford] , and i want to be sure its going to be worth travelling for .
Can anyone offer a few days off hand for training , - some sort of other deal perhaps ?
Any ideas at all really - really want to have a go and see how i get on 1
Thanks , Tom

HI Tom - Im in glos so not far from you - i had trouble finding much right near us in terms of courses - tho hereford is meant to be good if you got the time and money for a full time course. I can really recomend Peat Oberon's short courses in stockton on tees ( i think!) its way up north anyway! - he has website - i did one a couple of years ago and i know he still does them and he is very good. I dont know much to teach you really im still learning im an artist who knows a bit a bout metal but not enough for my liking about blacksmithing:) Let me know though if i can be any help youre welcome to drop by if youre ever in cheltenham:)

Wow , thanks for the quick replies , really good of you all .
Some more info , i can't really afford to do a full time college course again , or indeed go and do evening courses , [ i had seen some at warwick ] as i have to work a rotating day/nightshift - another fine reason to leave . I do admit that a full time course is best , having done a apprenticeship in welding years ago . I don't want to ruffle anyones feathers by appearing to be a welder who thinks he can just pick it up just like that.
Also , if anyone needs welding specific stuff answering i might be able to help.
Thanks again.