I Forge Iron

Minnesota Member

jenbutterfly

Greetings to all members--

I am new to the blacksmithing game...took a few classes and loved the act of creating something beautiful and durable. Starting up with some scrounged materials from my dad (the packrat). I looked over the gallery and am amazed by the skill showcased there. Can't wait to try my hand at a few of the projects. Hope I can do them justice. The weather is starting to get chilly here...are there any limits to when I can work outdoors (besides my own lack of personal fortitude)? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Jen Butterfly

Welcome aboard Jen, glad to have ya.

There are few things in life as satisfying as making something with your own two hands. When the things you make are from the very foundation material of human civilization AND you do it with mankind's oldest tools, fire, hammer, eye, hand and brain it feels good. Of course it does you're treading on a bit of Gods territory.

How severe the weather you're willing to suffer for the pure joy of making STEEL dance to your tune is up to you. I know there have been times I didn't even want to open the shop door but did anyway. Inside was so dark and cold I just wanted to close the door and go back inside but didn't. It seemed somehow too much trouble to light the forge and warm the anvil. The tongs cold cutting through my gloves to make my hands ache, my nostrils freezing shut at a sharp breath.

A few hours later, stripped to my shirt a day's winter doldrums past and beaten I wander back to the house satisfied, content, another day closer to springs rebirth.

I'm a hobbiest.

Frosty

Welcome to the group
What part of MN are you from. I live in the southcentral at Franklin.
What group did you take classes with.
The guild of metalsmiths are having there fall conference this month near hastings if you dont know about them.
I may not be able to attend or only for part of Saturday.