I Forge Iron

Remove hairdryer heat coil

Elendil

I've searched the net through and through and cannot find a tutorial on how to remove the heating coil and still have a functioning hair dryer. I have a powerful one, but for any decent forge time i need it to not over heat. Also I don't have very much money so a "professional" blower is not feasible at this time. Any help would be appreciated.

As with any electrical device, just cutting the wires is only half the job, you MUST insulate the cut wires !! This is so there is NO CHANCE of hot (energized) wires coming in contact with anything.

Each device is a bit different, some have a hi/lo/no heat switch. Some are crudely simple, and others have fail safe systems to shut the unit off if certain things happen. I am not an electrician and would not feel comfortable giving advice on how to modifying your device across the internet.

I think I would be going to a car wreckers and trying to get a heater fan and set that up. I had a play with hair dryers and could not get them to work without the heating element. Its not as simple as it would appear.

Play safe and use a 12V fan from the wreckers. Can't hurt yourself with these.

Well saving up for a "professional" hand blower so I have one when i make my long running forge. Using a modified leaf blower( less power and a potentiometer to i can chage the speed. it controls the base on a 2N3055 transistor on the positive going to the motor. If anyone wants to see how I did it send me a PM and i'll tell you) thank you for help.