I Forge Iron

Hello form Tennessee

billp

Just want to say hi, I'm trying to get started into blacksmithing and I'm very new to it all. I have some experence stick welding but that is about the extent of my metal experence. I''m trying to start my forge with a tire rim a design I got off line. So far my biggest problem is finding blowers not costing an arm and a leg. Right now I have a man at a hardware store looking to pull a blower from a dishwasher when they get a used one in for me. Not sure how I rig it up but I'll come up with something. Plus I'm finding good anvils are not cheep either, right now I'm using a piece of railroad railing welded to a steel plate. I know it all sounds so pitiful but with money tight you got to start somewhere.

So if anyone has any advice on places to buy equipment or on what or how to do something I'm all ears. I never turn down advice but to claim the right to chose whether or not I will follow it.

Thanks to all and Hello again.
Bill P

Welcome aboard Bill, glad to have ya.

A hair drier will work for a temp blower as will a shop vac but the shop vac is seriously over powered so it'll need a dump gate of some sort. The vac's motor requires air flow for cooling so just blocking it can damage it.

There are lots of designs, plans, opinions and such for all your basic smithing equipment available here. A good place to start is reading the "getting started, lessons in blacksmithing and blueprints" sections of IFI. Be forewarned though, take a lunch and something to drink, it's easy to get lost and need something to keep your strength up.

Then there is the direct method, just ask a question.

Frosty