I Forge Iron

Hi, from that grumpy ol' blacksmith out in the Hinterlands

Hi.

I've been blacksmithing part-time for several decades, and pretty much full time since 2001. Most of my work is replicating historical tools/items - from the early 1800's on back to early Roman times. I am more interested in the tools/items of everyday life over the centuries.

I also help out Jay Hisel at his Big River Forge workshop over in Lansing Iowa. So I get a bunch of modern structural/sculptural iron work mixed in.

And now these ... infernal machines ... take more of my time. Just another newfangled language to learn - at dial-up speed!

Mikey - that grumpy ol' german blacksmith out in the Hinterlands

p.s. In my avatar, I'm the guy on the left with the ... choppa. Part of our living history group.

Edited by Mike Ameling
bad spellin

Yeah, you just want to oooogle the "toy" we are standing in front of! And then there is that 1926 Whippet, and that 1927 Lincoln (if I remember correctly). Some of the "gang" are also extras in a new gangster movie coming out soon called Public Enemies.

I'll see about posting some pics. I make a lot of fur trade era flint strikers, muskrat spears, ice chisels, and flint strikers from any time period from very early Roman times B.C. up to the present. I have some on display at the National Museum of the American Indian, Grand Portage National Monument, the Museum of the West, and even the Museum of Welsh Life in Wales. Yesterday I made up two 1700's era small shovels.

And I need to get Jay to post more of the forge projects on his Big River Forge web site - like that larger than life deer skull with full antlers we forged up, or that pair of interior wood doors I covered with random sizes rectangles of copper glued and nailed on with brass nails. Or that coffee table in the shape of a tree - with the branches holding up the glass top and the roots curling down around a group of rocks to form the base. The ... toys ... we play with.