I Forge Iron

Damascus question

jsf252

Hello all,
This is my first post but I've been reading as much as possible from this site and other blacksmithing sites.

I actually have a 2 part question:

#1. I have a large scrap pile of various steels and iron that I want to make use of (which lead me to black/blade smithing). So what is the best way to tell if steel is high or low carbon steel? I have heard that you can file the pieces and feel the difference between high/Low carbon steel. Also I've tried the spark test on a grinding wheel, but I'm not experienced enough to tell the difference between the two. So what do you folks do when you're in the scrap yard looking for high/low carbon steels?

#2 I've seen tons of knives with pattern-welded blades, but some of them are far more striking than others. I've seen a few blades that are mostly black with a few veins of silver steel running through them. Other blades have a grey and dark grey pattern that is less pronounced. How do you get that striking black color on the blades where some damascus would have a dark grey? Is it a type of blueing?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.
-Josh

figureing content on scrap steel takes a little experience there are various listings on what is made from what but if you dont know what it is in the first place it gets tough.. generally for starting out try to find springs for makeing knives .. it will usually produce something useable .. as far as damascus goes most of the real shiny stuff is useing some nickle or nickle alloy .. the nickle dosent etch as easily as steel so shiny! also i have done a knife where it was etched lightly the blued ... came out real purty... the nickle wont take blueing so the patern really stood out.if your just getting into this and knifes and swords are what your going to do then you might get som good books on the subject... Jim Hirsulas has a good group of them real helpful...... good luck

Hi,