I Forge Iron

Feedback requested on first piece

Three weeks ago I first put hammer to iron. Been making s-hooks for the smith I've been watching and learning from on the weekends. Yesterday was kinda slow at the flea market where we do demos and sell Tri-pods, pig tails, oyster shuckers and dinner bells. I saw a piece of 1/2" round about 4 inches long left over from a dinner bell we made and heated it up.

This is what I ended up with. Its a serving fork about 9 1/2" long.

I am looking for constructive feedback since I am just starting out so feel free to let me know what you think.

I appreciate your time looking and your comments.

9351.attach

Looks great for just 3 weeks at blacksmithing, good job.

A few minor improvements:

- Spread the tines and flatten the little slit visible where the tines meet, as it is likely to eventually become a crack. Then return the tines to their finished position.

- Remove the hammer marks

- Look at how others have transitioned between the handle and the tines, that area will be the focus of people's attention and has the tendency to benefit from graceful shaping

- Strive for symmetry and natural flow of the outside lines of the piece. Beauty in iron tends to imitate the grace and flow of nature.

Edited by UnicornForge

I like it!
From a technical view: Some areas of the fork show evidence of working cold, so be sure to maintain a proper heat and take your time with it. do some minor adjustments to both tines if you ust to get them looking balanced. The same goes for the arm. I like the oblong scroll, but if that wasn't what your goal was, use even force when hammering and make sure everything stays hot. That was one of my biggest issues when I started, and I see much of the same in yours.

Diligence is the answer, and you've got a great start right there. Bravo

You are on your way!