I Forge Iron

Newbie from Austin Tx

Howdy,

Newbie here from ATX. Just recently took an introductory blacksmith class over at Pioneer Farms with instructor Philip Waters. Philip was a great teacher and I had so much fun and will be signing up soon for more classes. Eventually I want to make blades but for now I want to keep expanding my knowledge and basics before I move on to that.

The bug bit me pretty darn good. I knew this was something I wanted to explore more of so I immediately reached out to my cousin who now owns and lives on my grandparents old farm. I asked if my grandpa happened to have an anvil or forge or any blacksmithing equipment. Sure enough, he had an anvil that was passed down to him from his grandfather as well as a forge table. Both needed some work… the anvil was pretty eaten up, lots of pits on the face and horn, but the rebound with a ball bearing was perfect and rang like it should with no delamination in the plate to the body. I did a little surface grinding to clean the face up a bit but could still use a little more work but since I’m just starting out it’ll work great. I’ve already identified my anvil as an old Peter Wright 94lb anvil.

The forge table wound up turning into a pretty big project. Since this piece has actual family history I didn’t want to cut into it or weld to it etc. especially in case I ever happen to stumble across parts that could actually restore it. From what I can tell, it looks like it was the Buffalo Forge model #0 table but it was completely missing any kind of fire pot and most everything else that would come with that table. It had some sort of cement pot that I’m assuming my grandpa made for it at one point and was cracked into 4 chunks. I knew I was going to have to come up with something to use as a fire pot and get rid of the cement.