I Forge Iron

Finding a niche

M3F

Just a rant. What are your thoughts? 

I found a niche in the market awhile back, don't get me wrong I'm grateful, but making the same thing can get tiring. They're not special, anyone could make them but as far as I can tell nobody does.  It's not life changing money or anything and it comes in waves but it does keep me from digging into my primary income to keep the hobby going. Sometimes I lose the passion to make them though and have to take a break. 

I suppose it's a good problem to have. I have no online presence, no online store but that day might come. I've been smithing now for 5 years so that seems like the next logical step.  Maybe it's human nature, after all as the saying goes don't look a gift horse in the mouth. Anyway like I said. Just a rant. 

For me, making the same thing over and over again gets pretty boring.  I once took an order for 500 hand forged nails from the Wyoming State Museum and I still hate making nails as a result.  Even though it has been 40 years, I now only make them when needed for another project.

Yes, you get pretty good and efficent at making X but if it stops being fun it is a boring job and not an enjoyable hobby.  It can be anything from simple bottle openers through elaborate gates but if you don't enjoy it and don't look forward to going out to the shop and making X you have an unclear idea of what a hobby is supposed to be about. 

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand." 

One trick for making repeated but profitable items is to make a few every time you light your forge as a warm up. Warm up exercises aren't supposed to be fun or even enjoyable they're supposed to get you warmed up, stretched, limbered, etc. 

If you light the forge 3 times a week and make 4 thingusses each time you'll be stocking 12 a week. If you get an order for 45 and you already have 24 - 36 on the shelf, it's just one more warm up. Hmmmm?