I Forge Iron

difference between leaf dies?

these folks sell a few different leaf dies, anybody know the difference between them?

[commercial link removed]

they don't seem to have a contact email but I might just call them.

or does anyone have knowledge of leaf dies in general? do you use them? can you recommend a source?

Edited by Mod34
Commercial link removed per TOS

was just logging back in to add that question. I'm just a hobbyist, am I cheating by wanting a die?

it's also a fact that I've found I like making tools as much as I like making things with tools 

maybe I'll stick to hand marking and if I reach a point where I need a die I'll look at making one. Black Bear Forge has a good video on that 

It's certainly not cheating by wanting a die, and there's no such thing as "just a hobbyist".

Enjoying making tools is certainly legitimate, and it can both be fun and require less cash outlay to make a tool rather than buying a tool.

That said, whether hobbyist or professional or whatever, you are always going to be making cost/benefit analyses about whether it is better to buy a specialized tool, make a specialized tool, do a process with a non-specialized tool, or do something else entirely. One advantage of being a hobbyist is that your time generally doesn't have a cost, so putting time into something that isn't necessarily going to make you money isn't generally a problem. However, the flip side to this is that very often you don't have the experience to know whether or not that time investment is going to pay off, and you may end up spending a lot of time and effort (and sometimes money) on something that turns out to be largely useless. (Don't ask me how I know this.)