I Forge Iron

Am I Quenching Wrong?

Hello! I’m brand new to iforgeiron as of about 15 minutes ago. I recently got into blacksmithing, I’ve always thought it was interesting, started with just making tongs and practicing my hammer control with mild steel until I thought I was ready to make a knife. I ordered some 80CRV2, I forged a few knives. They turned out okay, a little profile bro ding and they looked pretty good. I’m ready to heat treat them but I didn’t want to screw them up. So I used some scrap 80CRV2 (a few little 1”-ish triangles I hot cut off the end of the flat bar while forging).

I did about 6 hours of research (so many different recommendations!). i try not to take anything on the internet as fact until I do my own tests. I saw people say you could harden 80CRV2 in water, in canola and most people say a fast quench oil.  I don’t have any fancy quench oil (I ordered some but it’s not here yet). So I did a controlled test, i used a two burner propane forge (bought on Amazon) with a 4” diameter piece of steel pipe inside it (I saw it a few times in some you tube videos to prevent hotspots). I marked all the pieces in a distinct pattern with a punch before I heated them. I used a laser thermometer to measure the temp (1550F). I quenched one in canola oil at room temp, one in warmed canola oil (it was probably around 140F), one in warm water (about 100F) I also had one I didn’t quench at all.  The ones I did quench I dropped in small cooking pots then grabbed them out with tongs. Maybe 2min? 

Not a single one of the samples hardened… I really hope someone can help me figure out what I did/didn’t do to make that happen. 

2B81B94C-3003-4D07-9BE0-0626641F41B2.jpeg

C2784C05-AF54-404D-A943-37B2033016D1.jpeg