I Forge Iron

Another Not-So-New Member

Jeff Maurer

I've been pounding steel for several years at the local HS/adult school forge but just recently the wife decided to surprise me with a propane forge of my own that she bought somewhere online. So now I'm setting up my own shop (it was so much easier to just go and have most everything there and ready to go). In trying to find out if anything the forge 'instructions' said were accurate, I ended up here. Already found more info than I ever expected (almost too much). For a data junkie like me, I've been reading like crazy. Thanks to everyone who has posted here...it really helps others looking for help. I did find out that the 'instructions' were (as expected) a complete work of fiction. The biggest lie was that I didn't need to do ANYTHING to prep the ceramic blanket ("Lined with 1" thick high density ceramic fiber blanket that no need pre-rigidized insulation coating to increase strength and efficiency of insulation, reduced fuel consumption and quick heating"). So I've already dodged a bullet there. Already contacted Glenn to get pricing for the actual stuff I need to make my forge safe to use. Anyways, welcome and I look forward to really getting things started.

Jeff, welcome aboard glad to have ya. 

The only thing i can say is you may want to put a general location in your header. Not your exact address unless you want a bunch of old guys coming over, BBQing everything but the cat, drinking all your adult beverages, and leaving the toilet seat up. Seriously though, a lot of questions will be location dependent like price of anvils or vices say. They can change dramatically from state to state not to mention our overseas friends. Also you may be surprised how many of us live close to you and most of us really like visitors or being visitors to the forge. 

Keep it safe and have fun. 

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.