I Forge Iron

Finally getting back into the melt

Despite being a combat veteran, I have been struggling with my foundry since a brass/steam explosion months ago. Over the last two months, I've managed to fire up the foundry 2 times, and my anxiety was palpable. It's an odd feeling to be THAT shook up by anything at this point in my life, it takes a lot to put me off-balance. Anyways, my scrap collection is brimming and I need to make some ingots. Apologies for limited participation on the forums recently, a few months ago I thought I was ready to get back into it but that wasn't the case. 

Here's to finishing out 2021 SAFELY and not letting anything stand in the way of a good time. Hope you all are doing well, and thanks for all the information I've learned here. 

Oh, and ALWAYS preheat your molds thoroughly. ;)

I recall you but I don't recall a steam/brass explosion. That is some serious BADNESS, were you or anyone else hurt? 

Any time someone does a melt, even a "low" temperature melt they should feel some degree of anxiety. It's inherently dangerous, any mistakes can be catastrophic. My father had an adage we heard so often we got sick of it but it's as true as it gets. "You have to respect it but you can't fear it." It being the thing you're doing. He was not amused when I made the observation that respect is a degree of fear. 

A little fear inspires a person to pay attention to detail, make and follow check lists, not cut corners, wear PPE and have emergency gear at hand. 

So, tell  us what are you casting? You aren't thinking of melting scrap, making ingots and selling them as scrap are you? That's a sure way to lower the value of your scrap considerably. 

Frosty The Lucky.

Welcome back.  Always glad to have another vet, particularly a grunt.

Just remember, after getting bucked off you need to get back on right away.  Sometimes a good scare is what is needed to avoid becoming complacent and sloppy.

GNM