I Forge Iron

i'm new to metal...

Amanda

Hello Everyone!
Just found the IForgeIron site today while searching online for information about metalworking. Does anyone know how to find a sponsor for education? Any ideas? I'd love to go to school, but being a single mom with two little girls- it would be hard to afford the 40 hours a week for classes. AND I would also have to move an hour and a half north to Stoughton, WI to attend the Howard Metal Academy of the Arts- which is where I now have my heart set on going....even if it takes me until I am 60 years old to get there! :P
Any suggestions or ideas are welcome! Even just general information about starting out in learning the metalworking trade would be so appreciated!
Thanks!
A:rolleyes:

Go to IForgeIron.com > Getting Started
Go to IForgeIron.com > Lessons in Metal working > Blacksmithing
After reading that material, start digesting the rest of the IForgeIron site. It may take a while (grin). The IForgeIron archives are at the bottom right of the Forum page. Click on Archive, click a section, click a sub-section, and notice there are several pages listed 2, 3, 4, etc at the top of the thread list. Everything can not be listed on just one page. (BIG GRIN).

You can get started with a solid fuel forge for under $20. If you are a scrounger, you can obtain most everything you need with very little investment of money. Go to IForgeIron.com > Blacksmithing Groups for a organization near you. They will jump start your education at the first visit.

If you run out of things to read, go the the IForgeIron.com > Blueprints, IForgeIron.com > Lessons in metalworking > Blacksmithing > LB0008 Reference material, and LB0008.0001 Reference Material. There are a couple of on line books on the subject listed there.

Welcome to IForgeIron, ask questions, read the materials suggested, and come back to ask more questions. Blacksmithing is good, but metal also covers non-ferrous metals, so don't limit your options.