I Forge Iron

Drilling and cutting firebrick questions?

Hello all, I am finally getting around to building my first forge.  I am using an old portable air tank for the outside shell and plan on use a combination of fire brick and refractory cement for the lining.  The brick is rated at 2700F and the cement for 2800F.  The brick is Rutland 9x4.5x1.25.  And the length of the forge will be 18 inches.  So I was planing on on having 3 of frostys T-burners.  KISS principle is being followed for this build.  I like the ribbon burn design but for now just want to get this up and running.  For a little background I was a welder in the Navy decades ago, like 3 and over the years have build a nice little machine and fab shop here on the farm, so any machining or welding is not a problem.  Also this will live its life outside in the weather and I live in Northern Illinois.  So the burners will be removable, and I will make a cover for the forge.  I will likely make a base for it I have move with the forks on the tractor.

My real question is what is the best way to drill or cut the fire brick/ best practices.  Or should I just use the castable cement refractory and form it around the burner tubes?

I am trying to keep costs down but if I have to buy a tool etc. that is fine.

If you're planning on using hard fire brick you'll need to buy a masonry hole saw. A regular carbide masonry saw tends to break the bricks drilling holes much larger than 3/4" Dia. Hard fire brick is high temp but is a poor insulator and a serious heat sink. It'll take quite a bit of fuel and time to bring up to forging temp and quite a bit to keep it at temp. 

If you plan on using IFBs (Insulating Fire Brick) an old worn out hole saw works a treat. Morgan Ceramics K-26 IFBs withstand the rapid thermal cycling and high temps of a propane forge. Standard IFBs dont last long. IFB lined forges come to heat quickly and it's good insulation makes maintaining temp much  more economical.