I Forge Iron

Forge T Fitting and Brass Fittings Getting Hot on Burner

Gee

Hey everyone.  I am a newbie to the forging arena.  Been trying to learn how to build a forge.  Made my own and lit it up and it seems to burn well.  Only issue I am having is the burner tube and fittings heat up a bit.  Is this something that is dangerous and is my design flawed?  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

IMG_0145.jpg

IMG_0146.jpg

Welcome aboard Gee, I always suggest reading this to get the best out of the forum. READ THIS FIRST -  It is full of tips like editing your profile to show your location, which is important to know for accurate answers on so many questions depend upon knowing where in the world you are located. You may be surprised how many members are close enough to lend a hand. Some of the other hints may help in flying under the moderators radar.:)

I'm sure the gas forge experts will be along to help with your question shortly. Who's plans did you follow when building the burners?

Thomas, my tubes are 8" long with a 1 3/4 overall diameter flare on the end and the T fitting on the other end.  Not sure about back burn...I just learned about that last night.  I will have to check to see if I am getting that...will let you know after I check this afternoon.  Because the burner is welded to the shell, it won't be as easy to see the back burn.  Maybe welding to the forge shell isn't a good idea?  Also because of welding to the shell there is a greater heat transfer to the tubes verses having a burner support holder??  Thoughts?

What's the diameter of the mixing tubes?   

The forge shell shouldn't be getting excessively hot so that's not a major problem.  Being able to change things out would be my major reason to have removable tubes.

Note that that design will suffer chimney effect heating after you turn the burners off, when did you measure the "hot" fittings?

I am NOT fond of vertical burner mounting for several reasons of which that is one.