I Forge Iron

Welding Cart Build.

Greetings!

I'm relatively new to IFI and learning about building a forge from a propane tank.  As welding will be involved I thought it would be neat to have a welding cart for my welder that I recently upgraded to.  I had a HF MIG welder and upgraded to a Hobart 140 Handler.  I like the machine, the longer leads for the ground cable and gun and, that I can add a gas mix to the machine down the road.  

I'm very new to welding and still struggle with making a good looking weld.  I seem to have good penetration and everything seems to be "stuck" together well.

I looked at a variety of welding carts.  The smaller ones were nice and the price was not too bad but, they didn't have the storage that I would have liked.  The larger ones with the available storage were just too big for my purposes and where it can be stored in the garage when not in use, so I can still get my truck in the garage.

On one of my excursions to Goodwill, I found an inversion chair (I think that's what it's called) for about $20.  I picked it up for the metal.  On another trip I found a smaller three-drawer Craftsman tool box for about $20 (after senior discount - lol).

I recently finished putting it together.  I want to build a folding table to weld on that will be mounted on the back of the box.  I need to make a couple of hangers for the leads.  There is enough storage for me right now.  I'm able to put my welding helmet, gas gauges and small metal cut-off saw in the bottom and a few tools and tips in the other drawers.  

I have about $110 or so into the cart with the metal from the chair, the toolbox, 5" wheels from HF and a diamond plate for the floor where the bottle(s) would sit.

My welds aren't great but, some were decent, hahaha.  I had a lot of fun building the cart and feel pretty proud of the accomplishment.  

Stay safe and healthy!
Jim

chair.2.JPG

toolbox.2.JPG

parts.2.JPG

cart.2.JPG

cart.3.JPG

cart.4.JPG