I Forge Iron

Greetings from Germany

DaMaakus

Hello,

my name is Markus and I'm from Germany. Bavaria, to be more precise.

I'm 36 and a complete beginner, in terms of blacksmithing and crafting in general. My father was a metal worker though, so I can fall back on some tools (which most of them I have no idea how to use properly). But even the best tools can't compensate for my lack of basic skills.

For now, I have about three days (4 to 6 hours each) of forging under my belt, since I only get to it every other weekend, at best. I built a JABOD forge (with charcoal fuel) and did some small stuff (a curl prototype for a friends garden, a cross for my sisters birthday, a really xxxxxx pair of tongs from rebar) and last weekend I tried to make an updated version of a JABOD, to make it more mobile and smaller. I probably will post it in the solid fuel section, since I'm not sure this one is viable.

Other than that, I want to keep going, I aim to take a blacksmithing class the next few months and my next big goal is to make a small box out of wood (another thing I want to learn is a little bit of woodworking) and combine it with some self-made hinges and maybe a decorative front piece. If I reached that goal, I will aim for another project.

Also, I want to apologize in advance for my English and the possibly improper use of blacksmithing terms, it's hard to learn that. And inches vs. cm. I will be using a lot of cm and mm. Sorry guys.

Here are some pictures, if that is okay:

First forge with my (fathers) anvil in the background (hard to spot the little thing)
NWjIO4C.jpg

Scroll prototype (couldn't get the egg shape to be round)

ifPQEvI.jpg

Cross (burnt an arm)

GktPq3b.jpg

New forge (WIP, have to ask questions in the JABOD sub)

4KkdD61.jpg

29 minutes ago, ThomasPowers said: