I Forge Iron

I Need a little help picking anvils, thank you for the help in advance

Hello, I'm fairly new to blacksmithing and I'm looking to buy a real anvil, though i live in Connecticut and haven't been able to find any within driving distance. I've searched online and found some promising looking anvils but I'm not sure which would be better. The first is a Bulgarian style anvil from oldworldanvils for $775 it's made of high carbon manganese steel and it's 110lbs. The second is a JHM AB Legend 120lbs for $655.40 from anvilbrand. it's made of ductile iron. The reason I'm so conflicted between them is that I don't know which material would be best i intend to make weapons like knives, swords, damascus, and I'm also thinking of trying out making some armor as well but that won't be for a long while. What would you recommend ?

Nicholas, I've seen plenty of anvils advertised for sale in CT recently and for the past few months.  Not sure what media you are using to do your search.  If you search CraigsList, you should find a few in CT as well as a few in Mass, RI, and NY which should be within driving distance for you.  You can refine your search to look up to 200 miles (I think) from your zip code.  Not sure exactly what your budget is but most of what I've seen on CL recently would be within the cost in your original message.  You can also look on ebay and there are several facebook anvil forums that may have local to you anvils for sale from time to time.  I'm in NJ and I've driven to Mass, CT, VT, NH, PA, and Indiana to look at anvils that I saw on CL or ebay.  Even had a guy drive down from VT to meet me at a rest area on the Mass Pike so I could look at an anvil.

Oh, and I'm not crazy to drive all over looking for anvils.  My son goes to college in Indiana so I looked out there on one trip to see him and my parents live in NH so I made some side trips on a couple of visits up to see them.