I Forge Iron

Alloys for a first attempt at decorative damascus

Hi there, forums!

This'll be my first post on this site, so please let me know if I'm putting this topic in the wrong place.  

I'm an aspiring artist blacksmith who's currently studying abroad at the Duncan Of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, in Dundee.  I've never made damascus before, but I've decided I'd like to start experimenting with mosaic patterns.  Unfortunately, I'm not terribly knowledgable about steel alloys, and I don't know what steels I should be purchasing for low-carbon decorative damascus, since all the information I've found has been in the context of bladesmithing. On top of that, I don't really know any of the metal suppliers in the UK.  

I'm hoping someone can answer me these questions:

1: What alloys would you recommend for welding with mild steel?  I'm new to damascus so I would prefer to work with something forgiving. 

2: Who would supply such an alloy in Scotland, preferably via delivery? 

3: What kind of flux would you recommend?  I currently have access to a bronze soldering flux that does the job, but is it worth purchasing something specifically intended for steel?  

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds! I'me really excited to get started on this. :)

Real wrought iron and pure nickle can be a quite distinctive mix.  In general to get the most "pop" you need a high nickel alloy; since you are not worried about hardness you can use pure nickel.  Check a Machinist supply for pure nickel shim stock.   For the other alloy you want something that etches dark, IIRC manganese content helps that. Of course what acid you are using makes a difference too.  Have you looked at some of the decorative patternwelding in "Decorative and Sculptural  Ironwork" Dona Z. Meilach  ?

Thanks for responding!

No I haven't, but it looks like an interesting read.